Garden Timers......irrigation for a new gardener with project

Hi everyone,

I have recently undertaken a proejct to fix up my mothers garden which has been overrun and left desolate for a while now. I have a keen affinity to gardening although i am new to it!

Basically i need to set an irrigation system up and have been looking at garden timers. My plan is to reseed the lawn and work on the flower beds but i didnt want to purcahse a timer without research. Any help would be great. I am also wanting to make sure that when i hook up my irrigation that by leaving the tap on with a timer it doesnt simply lead to a huge water bill! i presume there is a valve or something on the timer that opens when you time things.

As well as this i am interested in shaping a vegetable patch. What are good ways to go about this i.e.e does anyone know what vegetables are resillient to someone like me (A beginner) cultivating them?

Thanks in advance. Great site by the way

• TopbirdTopbird Posts: 4,871

Hi JLI & welcome to the forum.

I'm not sure what you are planning to use the irrigation system for. Is it for pots, a small bed or for watering the whole garden? If the latter - how big is the garden?

Anything larger than a tiny garden and you might be better off looking at professional irrigation kits. If it's just for pots or one or two small beds - something from the GC should be OK. In a bed you might find a seep hose better than sprinklers / drippers.

I have always used the Hozelok timers and they have a range to suit most needs. I found it better to pay a little more for one that allows more complex timing. This is because I prefer to irrigate beds for longer (perhaps an hour) less often (perhaps every 3 or 4 days). For pots I prefer to do maybe 15mins once a day. A lot depends upon aspect, temperature and rainfall but the timers are easy to reprogramme if you decide to water more or less.