ideas

this is the west facing bed, unfortunately it get s cast into a lot of shade by the fig tree, i'm thinking of moving this 'new dawn ' rose and replacing with honeysuckle, and moving the dianthus, the aubteria is staggly and doesn't flower well, any suggestiojs appreciated, thanks in advance

• rosemummyrosemummy Posts: 2,010

!it seems very dry probably because of the fig, I have 1 Japanese anemome about to flower and a lunar is annua that's been very badly eaten, a hagley hybrid clematis in the right corner seems to be settling in ok but what can I add? I hate bare soil!

• Beaus MumBeaus Mum Posts: 3,524

I'm no expert rosemummy but had a thought as the little wall edge looks like dry stone wall and people plant them up with plants that need next to nothing soil so maybe you could look up some of those and hopefully they would spread all over? image

Does look really pretty though rose mummy but you're like me and don't like spaces image Maybe just amother thought as what you have does look really nice but you want to fill the space that you fill the space with few of same plant and if you go for like I said above maybe an alpine campanula type? It could spread around and act as back drop for the bigger plants 

Thanks bm, I planted aubretia hoping it would do that but it's just gone really leggy and flowers very poorly, think though it does get some direct sun , it' s only for an hour or two, that flipping fig tree is a pain! I will look at campanula, like themimage

Give the aubrietia a good hair cut and sure it will grow back lovely image

Also if you search through the threads I'm sure I saw one for plants to grow in dry walls image

I think the fig looks really lovely x

• bekkie hughesbekkie hughes Posts: 5,294
    Ive got a little sedum type thing in that sort of spot, its really pretty and throws up very delicate stems with pretty flowers on, might be worth doing a "google", or im happy to send you a bit image