Forum home Garden design

Any plant ideas please...

Hi Everyone,

This is my first year gardening after buying our first house last September. I have some pots and hanging baskets, as well as a small bed in my front garden. These, I think are looking ok.

In our back garden is a raised bed, which did contain a lot of horrible bamboo stuff, I have finally managed to clear this and now not sure what to plant in it. Also how long should you leave it before planting after using roundup?

It isn't a very wide space, if you have any photos to share of plants I could use that would be a great help image

Thank you

Kelly

x

• philippasmith2philippasmith2 Posts: 8,525

Kelly...........best bet would be to tell us a bit more about you space......orientation would be a good start.......what sort of plants do you like...........high or low maintenance........children.........all helps to make a picture and then I am sure you will get plenty of help and adviceimage

• KelcowKelcow Posts: 7

Hello,

Thank you, fairly low maintenance would be good as not too much time, but I can water, ,deadhead etc in the evenings. I think it's south facing but not 100% sure, it's sunny until mid/late afternoon. I like quite a lot of different plants, would love to attract bees and butterflies. I currently have geraniums, cosmos, lilies, fuchsias, mini petunias. I like wild/cottage style mostly I think, but where I don't really know what I'm doing I just go for things that look pretty image  I'm just not sure what would work in the narrow/small space.

Kelly

Ah thank you, I will get onto google image, It's sunny most of the day x

• KirstyB2KirstyB2 Posts: 42

Is it not deep enough for honeysuckle? I think a bit of ignorance goes a long way, I've never known where I'm not supposed to plant it and it seems to grow usually.