Raised bed - rubble and topsoil mix?

Good morning image

I hoped someone could help me ou with a truly novice question on my new flower beds.  I've got the handy-man to make me a 2 sleeper high raised bed all the way along my neighbours fence.  This is the first thing we've done in the garden so are complete novices, but looking forward to buying our first plant ever!

I've got my pond liner to go along the fence side, and now i'm wondering what the heck i put in there before the plants image?  The beds are 20m long so if i put only topsoil in there i'll be bankrupt, and i guess that wont be good for drainage?  The handy man reckoned i needed Type 1 rubble, and then topsoil but couldn't tell me how much of each.

If i fill them half (1-sleeper deep) in Type 1, and then half (1-sleeper deep) with topsoil will this do the job? 

Thanks in advance for your help

• nutcutletnutcutlet PeterboroughPosts: 26,022

I don't think a pond liner will protect a wooden fence. Wood needs to breath, Having a pond liner against it won't stop it getting wet when it rains but will stop it drying afterwards.

• natalie 4natalie 4 Posts: 21

hmmm i hope it would dry since it's still exposed on my neighbours side? so long as they dont do the same beds on their side it shoudl be okay, right?

I fear it will rot starting from your side. But see what other people think.

Re the other part of your question, I don't know what type 1 rubble isbut I don't think you need all topsoil over that depth. I can't do sums very well but length x width x height gives you the cubic measurement and a lot of those big bags hold a cubic metre.

• natalie 4natalie 4 Posts: 21
    Thanks nutcutlet. I can Work out the measurements I need okay, just not sure what the % I need is. I was thinking 50% rubble, 50% topsoil but no idea if that's right?

Nor me natalie, sorry

• floraliesfloralies Posts: 468