Forum home Fruit & veg

Quadgrow - help, please

Penny_ForthemPenny_Forthem North WalesPosts: 273
I am getting to the time when I will need to plant up the tomatoes into their Quadgrow stations in the greenhouse.
It's the first year I've used this system. I have also bought mulch caps.

Any advice, please, about fitting the plants through the mulch cap hole? Some of my tomatoes are already too big, i think.
What kind of compost do you use?
Any general advice, too, about Quadgrow gratefully received.

I am growing 7 tomatoes, plus one cucumber (just germinating).
I will be growing the rest on inside till warm enough to put out in their big pots in a south facing corner, in a mix of JI and PF.
We had a bumper crop last year.
Can it be beaten?

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 47,289
    I've no experience of these so can't help really, but are the mats a circular material with a hole in the middle? If so, could you not cut a slot from the outer edge across to the hole? Many of these weed suppressing mats are that sort of design.  :)
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• Penny_ForthemPenny_Forthem North WalesPosts: 273
    Thank you @Fairygirl, but it's all the  dreaded plastic.
    There is a tank for water/feed, a wick into the pot and a plastic mulch cap.
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 47,289
    Ah - a different thing entirely then  :/
    I think a few people here have used them though - so they might be able to help. I'm sure there was a query a while ago about them too.  :)
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• BenCottoBenCotto RutlandPosts: 3,793
    edited 23 April
    When I saw the three words “Any advice, please ...’ I was already formulating an answer ‘don’t allow the plants to get too big or they won’t fit through the mulch cap aperture.’ Hmm. All I can suggest is wrapping the tomato in a roll of paper and gradually turning the roll until it gets sufficiently squeezed.