Forum home Problem solving

Weed Help

Hi,

I'm a complete beginner when it comes to gardening, but am trying to learn more and get our garden looking lovely. We have recently noticed these weeds in our garden and they seem to be spreading quickly. At the minute they are along each side of the garden but not through the middle. I've looked at some weed identification sites but am still clueless as to what it is so was wondering if some knowledgeable people on here might be able to tell me and possibly suggest ways to get rid of it. Not sure if it helps but we live on the north-east coast of Scotland and also have a lot of moss.

Thank you

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 73,600
    Hello @joanne.h.jones and welcome to the forum  :)

That looks a lot like Buckler leaf sorrel, usually regarded as a salad herb ... but I think it can get a bit rampant if it's happy ... I wish it would be happy here but it isn't 

https://www.gardenersworld.com/plants/rumex-scutatus/
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• Thank you @Dovefromabove it does look like that. Unfortunately says it is toxic to dogs and our dog likes to eat the long grass that grows by it so I think I will need to do something about it :( I wonder if I could start supplying local restaurants, lol :D this is just one small section
    edited 29 July
    A selective lawn weedkiller ought to do the job ... It might need a few applications but that, coupled with regular mowing should see it off.   :)

This sort of thing https://www.onbuy.com/gb/evergreen-lawn-care-lawn-food-weed-and-moss-killer-bag-400sqm-complete-4-in-1~c5040~p21510276/?exta=gshp&stat=eyJpcCI6IjIyLjk0MDAiLCJkcCI6bnVsbCwibGlkIjoyODYxNDQyMSwicyI6bnVsbCwidCI6MTYyNzM5NDAwNSwiYm1jIjowfQ==&gclid=EAIaIQobChMI9-y_9JGI8gIVuIBQBh32tgsSEAQYBCABEgKR_fD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds  

other brands are available, and it should be cheaper in B&Q or somewhere like that.