Forum home Fruit & veg

Best time to plant apple and pear tree

dbhattukdbhattuk London Posts: 23
I am new to gardening and trying to learn. I would to plant an eating apple and a pear tree in the garden, semi dwarf I think. The garden is north facing in a town area. From what I gather, winter is best time to plant. There is an apple few gardens, so pollination could be okay I think.  Should I order trees now from an online nursery or what till Jan/Feb. Not sure which is preferred to buy rootstock or container?        

• Bareroot and plant anytime from now til Feb. But sooner the better so it can start to establish roots earlier!
  • purplerallimpurplerallim LincolnshirePosts: 4,249
    When planting just remember that the ground under the tree should be clear of other plants or grass, as this will probably decide where you want them. There are many varieties and forms, taking up as much space as you would like, so if you need more input feel free to ask.🙂
  • dbhattukdbhattuk London Posts: 23
    Thank you, appreciate your advice and guidance. So much to learn 
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 77,494
    This is a highly reputable supplier and their website gives lots of useful information about sizes of tree, suitable pollination partners etc
    https://www.orangepippintrees.co.uk/articles/how-to-choose-fruit-trees

As you say, so muchs to learn  :)
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

Thank you, that’s very helpful. 
  • If you are only planting one of each, check that they are self fertile as many apples and pear trees need another pollinator.
    Thank you, I was thinking one tree in the garden and container dwarf for the patio. I hope that will help with pollination, need to get to grips with pollination groups. There is a apple tree few gardens away but no idea of the variety. I am looking for semi-dwarf for garden. So many to choose from. Thank you again