Forum home Problem solving

New to growing cyclamen

Hi
I'm new to growing cyclamen and not sure on a flower bud or seed pod. Can anyone help?

• B3B3 Posts: 15,805
    It's a seed pod. Pull it out sharply so that the stem comes too.
    In London. Keen but lazy.
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 66,135
    Flower buds are longer and slimmer. 
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• Thank you so much! I've got some pulling to do. That should keep me warm!
  • JoeXJoeX Posts: 1,376
    Are you supposed to deadhead cyclamen then (if you dont want seeds)?  
  • LG_LG_ gardens in SE LondonPosts: 2,947
    I never remove the seedheads and my Cyclamen are spreading. Slowly but nicely.
    'If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need.'
    - Cicero
  • LiriodendronLiriodendron Scariff, County Clare, IrelandPosts: 6,619
    I think the OP's cyclamen is an indoor one, @LG_ .  Dead flowers on these tend to spoil the look of the plant, and many people remove them for that reason.  It's great to let the hardy ones self-seed and spread though.   :)
    "The one who plants trees, knowing that he will never sit in their shade, has at least started to understand the meaning of life."  Rabindranath Tagore
    Ah yes, of course. 
    - Cicero
  • B3B3 Posts: 15,805
    And sometimes the stems rot.
    In London. Keen but lazy.
    I always forget about the indoor ones, sorry @FairyJennet. And I confess that when I was given one years ago I planted it outside after a while in a very sheltered spot because I couldn't be bothered with it indoors... not advisable of course, but it still pops up most years 😂.
    - Cicero
  • LynLyn DevonPosts: 16,825
    I am amazed at how quickly these little things form corms,  the seeds germinate easily in no time form the tiny corm,  they flower the flowing year.