Forum home Garden design

Cherry Tree Help needed!

CrazybeeladyCrazybeelady WarwickshirePosts: 407
Hello  :)  Newbie here.  You're probably all going to laugh at my stupidity here, but four years ago I got my first garden (and gradually found out that I'm mad for gardening!) and thought it would be a great idea to plant what I thought was a small cherry tree in the ground.  The label called it a patio tree so I figured it would stay small...ha ha ha how silly I was.  See below for then and now!  My issue is its proximity to that wall behind it - it's a garage and I'm scared the foundations may be getting compromised, so I want it out of the ground and I am going to dig it up once the leaves are gone.  I've got nowhere else to put it but can't bear to just throw it out, it's a happy tree!  Any suggestions on what I should do with it??

• batwood14batwood14 Posts: 193
    hi - conventional wisdom says to keep it at a managed height and not let it grow further. There's more info here https://www.rhs.org.uk/advice/profile?pid=225
  • LiriodendronLiriodendron Scariff, County Clare, IrelandPosts: 7,444
    Hello, @Crazybeelady:)

Certainly not laughing at your stupidity - just sighing at the way plants are so poorly labelled.  They should have given an idea of the eventual height on that label - you'd need a big patio for a tree of that size!

I suspect that though it's a happy tree now, it may not be so happy once it's dug up... but if you can dig out a reasonable root ball, it may survive in a new position.  Do you know a neighbour who'd welcome a free tree?  Could you advertise it on Freecycle?  Is there a community garden or woodland with room for it?
    "The one who plants trees, knowing that he will never sit in their shade, has at least started to understand the meaning of life."  Rabindranath Tagore
  • steephillsteephill Posts: 2,384