Forum home Garden design

Help me hide a fence!

Hi all this is my first time post but I'm a long time lurker :)  I have a very small courtyard garden mostly decking and so the majority of my plants are in pots.  My living room patio doors  face out into the garden and we have a high fence approx 8 feet high which sits on top of a wall.  Bit hard to describe but essentially decking which is about 10 feet deep then a brick wall approx 4 feet high which we have built a narrow raised bed approx 2 feet deep against and then above that is a border approx 2 feet deep which has 2 small trees one is a cherry and one is a crab apple. So the back border and the fence are higher than the level of the decking ( I will try and post a picture).  Our garden faces west but the fence is east facing if I have worked that out properly.. The borders dont get much sun due to the shade cast by the trees and also there is a very tall building at the back of us that blocks some sun. I've planted the raised bed with hebe's, hydrangea and heucheras but am really struggling with what I can put in the top border as there are so many tree roots that I cant really dig down.  I have a few tulip bulbs for spring colour and currently have pots on there with hostas, another hydrangea and currently some salix flamingo in pots but really want something more longterm and that gives year round interest due to that fact that we are basically looking at a bare fence most of the time.  Any ideas of what I could plant that is shallow rooted, doesnt mind shade and looks good year round? thanks in advance! The plants in my pots are mostly dahlias (huge fan) and tropical type plants such as canna, canary palms and fatisa japonica.  I love bold and bright colours and have a vague purple theme...actually its so vague its not worth mentioning! 

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 41,327
    edited September 2020