Forum home Tools and techniques

Compost bin help for a complete beginner

PyraPyra Central Scotland Posts: 139
I'm looking to start a compost bin. After doing much reading online, I've decided there is too much information online. So I'd like peoples actual experience, please. Will any type of bin work? I don't really have room for a big open compost bin but I do have room for a small plastic one or two, like the one shown here. 
https://www.gardenersworld.com/plants/which-type-of-compost-bin-is-best/
Are the small plastic ones ok? Some I've looked at had bases, I thought they had to touch the ground to work. 

Any advice or recommendations greatly appreciated! 

• PurpleRosePurpleRose North YorkshirePosts: 468
    Hi

I have a plastic compost bin. I have been composing now for just shirt of 2 years. I got my first lot of compost this spring and I was pleased with the amount of compost that i got.

I add alsorts to my bin but i always remember to keep the ratio of approximately 50/50 green and brown. Green is things like grass clippings, veg peelings, tea leaves and brown is cardboard, wood clippings etc...

When I first started I made the mistake of adding too much green and I ended up with a smelly mess in my bin. I added lots of brown things and tried to keep the ratio right and since it has happily decomposed away. I dont add weeds to mine. It sounds strange but every now and again I have a sniff of my bin. It should smell like undergrowth, like when you are walking through the woods. It's quite a pleasant smell.

There is a whole wealth of knowledge on here about composting and hopefully the people who know about it will come across this post and add some advice.