Forum home Problem solving

Clay soil, poor drainage and trees

mbaxter12345mbaxter12345 Posts: 2
edited January 2020 in Problem solving
Hello

I was wondering if somebody could offer some expert advice or recommendations please? I have to hold my hands up and admit that I am a complete novice when it comes to gardening and so my knowledge is close to zero.

Our garden drains poorly as there is a high water table and the soil is clay like. We live in a new build house and when the garden grass was laid a few years ago it was clearly on top of a very shallow spread of top soil. The grass is thinning and in winter we are getting lots of boggy areas. The water takes a very long time to drain away properly.

I was hoping to maybe dig out some borders and plant some trees that really absorb water but dont grow at a rapid rate. Just something that could grow in the poor soil really soak up the water from lawn. The approx area is about 10m x 6m

Many thanks in advance.

• Many thanks in advance.
  • purplerallimpurplerallim LincolnshirePosts: 4,064
    Maybe raised beds to plant in, I have clay soil too. With trees you have to make sure they are far enough away from foundations, so maybe something on a dwarf root stock even apples or pears. Helpful and productive. 😁
  • NollieNollie Girona, Catalunya, Northen Spain.Posts: 5,123
    Even trees and shrubs tolerant of wet, boggy soil generally need some drainage so digging in lots of grit and organic material will help, some information here:

https://www.rhs.org.uk/advice/profile?pid=152

I have heavy, compacted clay and garden in raised beds, mainly, with tonnes of aforementioned grit and compost dug in.