Forum home The potting shed

Gardeners green tax

I don’t think this is news here, but it’s currently the second most popular story on the bbc news site:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-49085346

“Analysis shows some UK councils charge up to £100 a year for a kerbside collection, despite one in four councils providing a free service.

Critics say the service should be free to residents to reduce the amount of clippings being sent to landfill.

Councils say the service is not statutory and home composting is a cheaper alternative.

The BBC's Shared Data Unit looked at the annual subscription charges levied by local councils for regular kerbside garden waste collections”

• I've been paying for 4 years.

Started off at £20 and it has since gone up by a fiver each year.
  • pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICT DerbyshirePosts: 17,264
    What did people do in the old days when “refuse collection” involved a hefty chap in a leather jacket coming along once a week and emptying a single metal ashcan into a lorry? 

Hardly anybody owned a car and recycling centres didn’t exist.

Oh yes. People had compost heaps.

Apophthegm -  a big word for a small thought.
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 63,925
    Hmm ...they also had bonfires ... not sure if we want a return to too many of those ...
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICT DerbyshirePosts: 17,264
    Nothing like a good bonfire to get you to meet your neighbours.
    Apophthegm -  a big word for a small thought.
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 34,284
    I think it will come down to what facilities councils have for composting.
    We have year round collection, every week, of a 'brown bin', included in Council Tax. That will be different in other council areas. 
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 26,165