Fickle fig tree?

SantySanty East Anglia, UKPosts: 24
Please can someone help me work out what's wrong with my fig tree?  It lives in a pot with good drainage on my patio and gets plenty of sunlight.  However, the last couple of weeks the leaves have begun turning yellow and brown before dropping off; the fruits are falling off too.  This is a fairly new addition to the patio and I'm not very experienced in how to care for these. 

I've read that they are affected by both over and under watering so is anybody able to tell from the pictures or give me any tips as to whether this is the cause of the problem?

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 56,654
    Mine’s in a similar situation and it gets a large watering can full of water most days in the summer otherwise it behaves just as you describe.  
    They need lots of water and at the same time they need very good drainage. 
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• amancalledgeorgeamancalledgeorge South LondonPosts: 503
    That's quite a mature tree too...don't worry too much about dropping fruit, they tend to when unhappy and they will grow some more in the spring. Can you show us the size of the pot? A tree this size needs a biggish pot to remain moist enough and to be stable if it gets moderately windy. Always worry when people buy mature specimens grown in very different conditions than a UK garden, the plants will suffer some shock and a larger tree will protest a bit louder than a small specimen. My unfortunate fig story is that squirrels tend to eat the maturing figs...the little blighters  ;)
    To Plant a Garden is to Believe in Tomorrow
  • SantySanty East Anglia, UKPosts: 24
    It's in quite a large pot. Much larger than the one it came in and this, on its own, was so heavy I struggled to lift it. It's about 50cm tall and 60cm wide