Growing  trees and  planting in the woods.

I've been growing horse chestnut trees for a few years. There is an abundance of their seed on the street where I live, and surrounding area.

I've always previously  ignored the self-setting Beach & Ash until recently. But this year I started potting them up-especially the Beach due to their abundance.

I did not really want anything competing with or impeding the growth  of the horse chestnuts (my passion) once they are in the woods.

However, it ocurred to me that having other species around may actually  compliment the growth of the HCs?  I'm just thinking about the benefit from the other species that may attract certain polinating insects to the area that otherwise might not be there? 

I welcome your ideas/thoughts.

• josusa47josusa47 Posts: 2,379
    Do you own the woodland where you plan to plant them?  If not, I doubt it would be legal to plant anything without the landowner's permission.  It may look like "wild" country, but it all belongs to someone.
  • WillDBWillDB Posts: 1,947
    I find the idea of digging up Horse Chestnuts (a non native ornamental tree) and planting them in natural woodlands kind of bothersome. They're just likely to displace more beneficial native species, and as you know from the seedlings popping up on your street, they seed around like mad.
  • treehugger80treehugger80 Posts: 1,873
    edited 1 August
    horse chestnuts (a non native) cause too much shade in a British woodland and can actually kill off ground flora like bluebells and wood anemones by the shade or building up too thick a layer of leaf litter (the leaves don't rot as quickly as natives),
    please don't plant non-native trees in woodlands!
  • Mike AllenMike Allen Posts: 47
    No disrespect but.  For those opposers here.  Be honest and own up. Can you readilly identify british trees??????