Forum home Fruit & veg

How to dispose of soil with slug pellets?

I’m new to gardening and, after my salad tray was obliterated by slugs, I (stupidly) took advice to use slug pellets, without understanding what they do. 

I now need to dispose of the soil as it’s full of lettuce drop mould, but I’m unsure of how/ where to do so without harming the birds. I kept my beds at the bottom of the garden where the birds don’t go, but need to dispose of the soil at the top where they do. 

Can i just bin the top layer with the pellets and tip out the rest on the garden, or will the poison have soaked into the soil?

Thank you. 

• CeresCeres Posts: 1,896
    So many questions......How much soil are you talking about here? Is it just one seed tray or a huge amount? What sort of slug pellets did you use?
    Also, I'm sure the birds must inhabit all areas of your garden so they will access poisons wherever you put them.
    Speaking as a paranoid person when it comes to things like slug pellets, I'd bury it all six feet under but more sensible souls might have a better suggestion.

• Ceres said:
    So many questions......How much soil are you talking about here? Is it just one seed tray or a huge amount? What sort of slug pellets did you use?
    Also, I'm sure the birds must inhabit all areas of your garden so they will access poisons wherever you put them.
    Speaking as a paranoid person when it comes to things like slug pellets, I'd bury it all six feet under but more sensible souls might have a better suggestion.

It’s quite a bit... 3 big planter’s worth.