Help with my blank canvas of a garden!

Hello, 

My garden is approx 13ft x 52ft, one section is 33ft, then 10ft, then 9ft.

It was filled with a giant shed filled with rubbish that took about 15 van loads to empty and about 2 weeks to dismantle!

I have terraced the bottom section with sleepers to make it more use able, but really its a blank canvas now! (the french is a slate/railings colour now)

Really I would like a nice area for a patio and maybe some additional statement plants, I'm thinking maybe 1 or two clumping bamboo? Maybe a little 7 x 7 shed for storage. Just a bit lost and while I'm OK with DIY I'm new to gardening. Any ideas or inspiration please!

• Busy-LizzieBusy-Lizzie Posts: 13,684

It all depends on several things! What do you want from your garden? Flowers? Veg? Play area, children?, lawn?, paving? low maintenance? Is it in sun or shade? What is the soil like? Acid? Alkali?

As it isn't very wide I wouldn't put anything like a straight path or thin straight borders along the edges. Better with curves or a design that goes from side to side or different shapes.

Have a look at some of these https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=thin+garden&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjlkamXtMPiAhWqxoUKHcZEAysQ_AUIDigB&biw=1188&bih=539

Dordogne and Norfolk
  • steven_playfordsteven_playford Posts: 19
    edited 30 May
    The section nearest gates are sunnier as less shade from trees and the bottom bit i've terraced is sunny too.

I've no idea as to acids and alkalinity, its near a river and I don't think NI has much chalk soil? 

No children, not interested in a lawn. Thinking some paving, some gravel and some nice low maintenance statement plants like bamboo and some lighting for night? 

I don't want a sea of paving and fencing though. I'm pretty unsure of planting I think is the problem. Maybe planting for fencing along the bottom.

Maybe beachy/coastal, with a bit of bamboo tropical thrown in?