Forum home Plants

Horsetail help

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 77,410
    edited May 2019
    I have no experience myself but I have read in several places that if doesn’t like limey/chalky soil and that adding lime 
    weakens it. 

As as I said we don’t have it here but the soil here is very chalky. 

If if I had it in my garden If certainly think it worthwhile to apply lime (as well as using Kurtail) and see if that helps.

Good luck 😉  
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• Dave HumbyDave Humby Posts: 1,115
    Bruise the plant first by scrunching it then apply round up tree and stump killer in a solution of washing up liquid which holds the round up in contact with the plant for longer. I had good results with this method. 
  • dannyblack140492dannyblack140492 Warrington Posts: 29
    Is it inevitable that it will keep coming back each year 
  • Paul B3Paul B3 Posts: 2,964
    We are currently attempting to maintain a large property and garden 'on the market' ; Marestail has returned this year with a vengeance ; it is literally everywhere , through pathways , around the base of the house and even coming out of the brickwork . What is left of the borders are thick and green with it . An insurmountable struggle .
    I think we're fighting a losing battle , and pity any future buyer .
    Oh dear.. we're luck I guess we I seem to have caught it early at the first signs so am taking action now and the garden we have is a fair way away from the actual house itself with the large patio separating it so it seems to he isolating itself to the very back of the garden near the willow trees 
  • BraidmanBraidman Posts: 234
    I had a mass of it when I took over my allotment,Verdone (for lawns) made short work of it, never seen it again!
    Do you have a link to the variant you used bud 

Also did you dilute it and spray it or just apply it straight