How to start a new rhubarb bed

• Hello,
    Sorry, I’m new to the party! I planted rhubarb a couple of weeks ago in my sheltered garden, but storm Freya has kicked in early and broken one of my two stalks  :'( as it’s such a new plant, will it be alright? I know you’re not supposed to harvest them in the first year as they won’t establish, so I’m worried that my poor little ruby is done with before she even really started! 
    Many thanks in advance!
    Tiffany
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 55,091
    I wouldn’t stress about her ... she should grow a good few more stalks before the growing season is over and they will photosynthesise and feed the crown .., that’s why you don’t harvest in the first year. Rhubarb is pretty tough ... her ancestors in Siberia had to cope with worse storms than Freya 😉. But make sure your hatches are battened down so you’re safe. 👷🏼‍♀️
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• BobTheGardenerBobTheGardener Leicestershire, UKPosts: 7,918
    I'd also pull the remaining part of the broken leaf stalk if you haven't already to prevent any rot from starting.
    A trowel in the hand is worth a thousand lost under a bush.
    Good point Bob 👍 
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• Guernsey Donkey2Guernsey Donkey2 Posts: 6,157
    Adding onto this topic.  I planted two varieties of Rhubarb a couple of years ago and haven't harvested any stalks yet, but hope to this year.  One plant is Victoria which is doing well with new leaves showing through, the other is Champagne which has barely any growth visible although I think it is still alive.  My question is do different varieties of Rhubarb produce stalks at different times of the year?
    edited 3 March