Advice needed on composting

As the price of the green bin in our council just keeps going up and up, I think it is time for me to start investing in some proper compost bins. However as I am new to composting, I would like some advice on what to get and what I need to do. :)

I am looking to mostly compost garden waste, which consists of grass clippings, weeds, hedge trimmings and lots and lots of fallen leaves (there are quite a lot of trees around here and my garden is currently covered in leaves). We have quite a bit of space at the back of our garden where we could install some compost bins, but the only issue is that this area does not get a lot of sunlight. Would this be a problem for compost bins?

If possible, I would also like to compost some food waste, as this is currently not collected by our council and it tends to smell up our black bin, especially during summer. I know food waste isn't great to compost though, but maybe if I have a separate bin for the food waste it might be alright? Or is there a different way to get rid of food waste? We do not have a lot of it, but we sometimes have raw meat (cut-offs), eggshells, vegetables... possibly wet cat food that the cats didn't finish. :wink:
I have no space inside the house, only space outside (and currently do not yet own a shed), so it would have to be something I can keep outside.

So my question is, what type of bin would be good for garden waste, and what type of bin would be good for food waste? Is there one that can handle both? Does it matter if the bins are in a shady area of the garden?

Any tips and tricks are very welcome! Right now I really want to start clearing the leaves, but I have nowhere to put them so looking forward to a solution for that. :)

• madpenguinmadpenguin Isle of WightPosts: 1,569
    There is a Hot Bin you can get that will deal with kitchen waste,more info here:-
    https://www.hotbincomposting.com/
    Others can probably help more with 'ordinary' composting.