Forum home The potting shed

Total newb to gardening, in need of hedge advice

jams1256jams1256 Posts: 3
edited July 2018 in The potting shed

Hi all, I’m in need of some hedge advice.

I’m in an end terrace house and have a very small space at the back which is overlooked at all angles but I do have a bit of a side garden which has a small 2ft wall going along 1 side, adjacent to a road.

I’d like to plant a hedge along 2 sides (around 15 metres) to give me some privacy, the garden isn’t big but it would be enough for me to be able to sit outside in the summer, at the moment I have no privacy at all.

Ideally the hedge would have to be kept quite narrow as not to eat up too much of the garden but be able to reach a height of around 6ft fairly quickly

Can someone tell me what variety would be best?

Also, I read somewhere that erecting a high fence is not allowed in the front but hedges are normally exempt, is this correct?

I’m a total newb to the world of gardening so any advice you could spare will be greatly appreciated.

• pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICT DerbyshirePosts: 18,686
    Hello there,

Well, first of all, any plant that grows to six feet fairly quickly does so because it is on its way up to reach its natural height which is most likely going to be 106 feet high. Any hedge that is going to stay manageable and not occupy the entire garden is going to reach six feet very very slowly.

For rules and regulations on what height hedges and fences can be in your area, contact your local council.

I’d say build some sort of arbour to hide within. No height restrictions on arbours, I believe.

Apophthegm -  a big word for a small thought.
  • glasgowdanglasgowdan Posts: 632
    However, pretty much all fast growing hedges of huge natural lineage are easy to keep at 6ft tall with a 1x annual trim. 
  • Lizzie27Lizzie27 Bath, SomersetPosts: 7,974