Ideas for all types of plants

Hello there.  As you can see from my pictures below, I've started out with a blank canvas and have now begun to get some interesting shapes to it. In my mind, I can see why type of plants I'd like in the bed but I've no knowledge of any types.
Some notes on the garden -
  • It is North facing with the left-hand side getting the most amount of sun per day.  The lower right side does not get any direct sun
  • The purple square is where I have planted a crab apple tree
In terms of design, I can see the peach circles representing some taller trees/shrubs and reducing in size down to the red then blue ones.  Eventually, I'll be putting in some bulbs but that's for another day.
Any ideas for plants are welcome, nothing too cumbersome as it's only a relatively small area but equally, enough to start to fill the space.

Thanks!

• ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 16,814
    I would think you'd soon need to widen the narrower parts of the left hand bed but it's a good start.

Have a look at this article from the RHS - smaller shrubs for shade lower down.  Quite a few will flower in winter or spring so you'd need bulbs and perennials in between that flower in spring summer and later to continue the interest and also provide contrasting or complementing form.  
    "We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing." - George Bernard Shaw
  • gavinfgavinf Posts: 5
    Obelixx said:
    I would think you'd soon need to widen the narrower parts of the left hand bed but it's a good start.

Have a look at this article from the RHS - smaller shrubs for shade lower down.  Quite a few will flower in winter or spring so you'd need bulbs and perennials in between that flower in spring summer and later to continue the interest and also provide contrasting or complementing form.