Forum home Garden design

Concrete Planters - liners?

We live in a end of terrace on a hill and have a courtyard which is on quite a slope. We are in the process of making it level! So concrete is already involved  Along 2 of the walls we are using breeze blocks (which will be tiled) to create seats/storage but want to alternate with planters..so,  I have a concrete shell for plants, which I read isn't such a great idea..we will drill down through the old patio to allow for drainage but should I line the planters with something? I obviously can't  just fill them up with compost...I'm new to this kind of gardening so any help would be great.

l've attached a photo of my building site incase I'm not making much sense, (the outside all of my planters is going to be 425 high so almost another block). No plans for veggies just grasses, foliage and a few annuals.

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 47,289

You could line with plastic (also with plenty of drainage holes cut in it) which will prevent the concrete soaking up too much moisture. It can be an issue with any raised beds as they tend to drain more easily than the ground. The proximity of the wall can also mean that the planters would be drier. 

You may need to think of a way of attaching the plastic though, as that might not be easy.

Alternatively, there might be a paint you could apply to help waterproof them a bit. I'm sure someone will have a recommendation for that - I've used Thompson's water seal on brickwork previously when I had a bed at the end of a deck which was in contact with a house wall. 

Compost alone will be fine for annuals, but you'll need something more substantial for long term planting. A soil based compost, ordinary topsoil, and/or well rotted manure would all be ideal depending on what you want to grow. image

It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• Thanks Fairygirl.