Grafted

Hi, could anyone tell me will the Aronia melanocarpa 'Nero' that I grafted onto an apple tree, the apple as the rootstock, grow into a tree. It has been doing well since but will it grow into anything. I was experimenting about 2 years ago and both parts are doing well since then.

The Aronia melanocarpa 'Nero' is a bit fast growing but I am curious to know what will happen to it? Does anyone know as I believe they can be grafted to Mountain Ash as well, so an apple rootstock should in my view create a tree out of it, I hope? Thanks.

• ButtercupdaysButtercupdays Posts: 2,588

I am no expert on grafting but I wouldn't think so. Surely all the that you have is a rootstock compatible enough to prevent rejection and supply water and nutrients. The Aronia still has its own DNA and will do its own thing. Its a bit like expecting a liver transplant to grow into a heart.

What you might get, if your apple stock is tall enough, is some kind of lollipop standard, like Kilmarnock willows or similar.

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 55,133
    I agree with Buttercup. You have an aronia on Apple roots. The roots will supply water and nutrition. That's all.
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• punkdocpunkdoc Sheffield, Derbyshire border.Posts: 6,993

Can grafts between 2 different species work?

You wouldn't know a diamond if you held it in your hand
    The things you think are precious, i don't understand
    As I understand it aronia and apple are both rosaceae so presumably compatible?
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• Invicta2Invicta2 Posts: 663

Most Pears  are grafted on Quince  so its not unusual if they are closely related.