How to sort out this mess!

HI all,

This is my first post on here and I should start by saying that I am a complete novice with gardening and really don't know much. 

I bought a house with a large hedge dividing my garden from my neighbours although it actually grows on my neighbours side. It was talking up a lot of space on my side so I cut it back quite a lot. I stupidly cut more of it down below and I'm  left with this stupid 1 meter gap underneath that I'd like to somehow cover up as its so ugly. The bottom on the hedge overhangs by about 1 meter as well but I can't cut anymore back as it gives us our privacy too. 

Any ideas what I could do? Could I somehow 'fill in' the gap with more bushes in a flower bed? Could I put a low fence to cover the gap? I don't want to spend too much doing this either. 

Any ideas would be appreciated as it looks awful.

Thanks

Mikeimage

Ps - I should add that the photos don't really how it but it's very thin in the bottom but and you can see into the neighbours garden so it's really not very private anymore. 

Last edited: 29 May 2017 13:38:05

• Dave HumbyDave Humby Posts: 907

It looks ok to me Mike! It will regenerate and recover. I'd be tempted to lightly trim the sides but that's personal choice as I prefer a more uniform look. I think you'll only see through the gap at the bottom if you're lying on your belly(!) so I wouldn't worry about the privacy aspect from that respect. 

• Mike BMike B Posts: 10

Thanks, I've been hoping it would regenerate for months but nothing has regrown yet. Is there anything I could do to quicken this process? 

I should have added that I'd also like to extend the rear patio which would go alongside the hedge but as it is currently there's no proper 'edge' to the garden with this gap being here. The ground under the overhang slopes up and is covered in roots in the ground so this would make it tricky to put patio slabs over. 

Last edited: 29 May 2017 14:17:50