Forum home Plants

Achillea - lower leaves droopy & yellow

KimWKimW Posts: 5

I'm a newbie gardener with a southwest facing roof terrace. I bought an achillea pomegranate 3 weeks ago and repotted it into a larger pot, perhaps unwisely using potting compost. (I've since discovered they prefer less rich soil... Oh dear.) I watered it well after repotting, and for the first week, but then the lower leaves started to droop and turn yellow, so I wondered if I'd been over-watering, especially as the label says 'drought-tolerant'. For the last 2 weeks I've watered very sparingly (it's been hot and dry), but the lower leaves are still drooping and yellow. The soil now feels v dry. At the same time, the top of the plant looks healthy and like it's about to burst into blossom. Am I underwatering or overwatering it, or is it just unhappy in rich soil? Any advice on how to make it happier would be really welcome!

Many thanks in advance.

Kim

• KimWKimW Posts: 5

Here's a photo of the poor thing. 

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 49,030

I'd say it needs a bigger pot, but also, if it's on a roof terrace, it may need a bit of protection from wind, which is very drying. If you can move it into a bit of shade,  you may find it improves.  When a plant is stressed, it's not uncommon for it to drop some foliage anyway, so I wouldn't worry about that too much.

If the plant's a bit pot bound, the roots don't really get out into the surrounding soil properly. Make sure the roots aren't tight and solid - tease them out before planting. That's a common reason for a plant struggling a bit  image

It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• punkdocpunkdoc Sheffield, Derbyshire border.Posts: 13,025

That is suffering from an acute case of dehydration.

There are ashtrays of emulsion,
    for the fag ends of the aristocracy.
  • LoxleyLoxley NottinghamPosts: 4,973