Forum home The potting shed

Veggi patch

Hi,

I'm new to gardening really and am trying to turn my back garden plots into a veggi garden. In very early April I planted eight rows of seed potatoes 2 carrots 2 beetroot 1 lettuce 1 corn some broccoli some spinach and one or two other rows. I planted from seed as I don't have much time or space. I've seen my mother do it this way too when I was a kid. Anyway, it was very dry for the first 4 weeks so I watered as much as last could although I only had bottles and pans. 

The potatoes have come up really well and I think I should get a decent crop. The problem is that NONE of the seeds have come through even though it has been wet for a few days now. I wondered if I had planted too early and hoped as the soil warmed and/or the rain set in I'd get some seedlings sprouting. 

I'm left wondering if I should give up on the veggi seeds and just plant a load more potatoes or do I wait a week or two to see if anything comes up. What is strange is that NO seedlngs have germinated from probably 2000+ seeds. I thought that even if I had messed up SOMETHING would have come up just by chance if nothing else.

What do you think? Should I wait or plant seeds potatoes? I'm worried that if I plant spuds I might get random veggies springing up everywhere and it becomes a right mess but if I just wait I might end up with just soul and weeds. Could I try planting rows of potatoes in between the rows of seeds? 

The seeds were put in at an ok depth and I would have thought I'd have got a few by chance if I'd done it wrong somehow.

Thanks in advance

Ned

• a1154a1154 Posts: 806

Hi Ned, you should have posted this in fruit and veg category for lots more response! 

I would have thought you would have something. It could be a frost, or mice, or maybe a bad batch of seeds (did you buy them? Did you check dates?). You may be over zealous with watering too.

what is your soil like? Did you try anything to improve it before starting the seeds?