Pricking out cucumber seedlings

Morning all,

It's my first time growing cucumbers, I planted two seeds per pot half expecting only one to germinate.  I've seen different advice on t'internet saying don't prick out as cucumber seedlings try to die at every opportunity; prick out at 4 inches; don't prick out but separate the seedlings in as much compost as possible.  

Also other advice seems to say don't replant deeper than they are currently as they don't like their stems wet?

Any 'real life' advice here please?  Feels like I need to do something ????.

• ButtercupdaysButtercupdays Posts: 2,656

Never grown cucumbers so just guessing!

If they were mine, I would carefully tip up the pot and split it so each seedling has roughly half the soil, then give each its own pot with extra compost to the original level. They are well spaced, so this would give the least root disturbance. I would do it now, because the longer you leave it the more tangled the roots will get. The other option, often suggested, but which I would find hard to do, is simply to remove the 'weaker' seedling. Yours all look strong tthough..... how many cucumbers do you want?

• Andy LeedsAndy Leeds Posts: 512

Thanks Buttercupdays.  I probably want to end up with two plants, but don't want to risk losing any at this stage.  If they all survive I'll give them away ?.

• Blue OnionBlue Onion Posts: 1,783

I plant two per pot, and just cut off the weaker of the two if they both happen to germinate.  They really hate root disturbance, so I don't even pull out the weak one.  

Yours have gotten leggy... not enough sun light.  Not much to do about it at this stage.  When you pot them on, you can put them in a tiny bit deeper.. but not much.  Put some kitchen foil behind the plants, to reflect some light back onto them from the window.