Forum home The potting shed

Crockham Hill garden goings on

Good morning everyone. Has there have been other people on here starting threads on their own gardens I thought I'd start one myself. I'm a complete novice gardener and only really started getting into gardening when I moved into my ground floor flat 10 years ago.

I've done odd bits in the garden already but progress is very slow and sporadic as I can't commit very much money to it...only £10-20 a month. So most things have to be very cheap or even better free so a lot of scavenging and skip diving goes on.

Anyway the Easter weekend was a busy one here as I replaced my old raised veg bed with a new one but for bee, butterfly & bird friendly flowers this time and also a wildlife pond.

First pics show the old bed gradually rotting away. Even though this was treated timber it rotted very quickly as I had laid it straight onto the soil. This is heavy clay so it was always wet.

imageimage

So I dug the old one up and then a trench ready to receive the new one. This trench was filled with lots of coffee/tea mugs that were being chucked out from my workplace and then crushed up to give some drainage but I did add an extra layer of gravel in as well to help get things level.

imageimage

I had started building the new raised bed at my workplace as then I could do it in the dry and keep things as level and straight as I could. The timber was rescued from a building being demolished next to my workplace and it was roofing joists. They were a bit warped and twisted but beggars can't be choosers and they weren't too bad. It was built in sections that I could take apart and then do final fixing once in place at home.

Then it was just a matter of getting it back home...fixing together the base and side sections first and then building up the sides all the way around.

imageimage

imageimageimageimage