Tomato plant problems

Hi everyone,

I'm growing a couple of tomato plants, indoors for now, but over the last 2 weeks I have noticed that some of the leaves are slowly yellowing and maybe curling too.

They are in potting compost, under blue and red LED lights and are on a heating mat set to 22C.

I tend to water them a little twice a day, and I thought they would have enough nutrients in the compost as I only re-potted them 2 weeks a go.

However, I fertilised when I noticed it with a general purpose liquid fertiliser, and again 1 week later. However, hasn't made a difference, or halted the spread

.image

imageimage

By the way, complete novice, so any help at all would be great. I've had a look at loads of pictures of tomato problems, but struggling to nail it down...

Andy

• Pete.8Pete.8 Billericay, EssexPosts: 4,750

It could well be a lack of good light Andy - can you put them on a sunny windowsill during the day and just use your led's to extend the day a bit? but let your plants have at least 6 hours of dark/day. The sun is getting stronger now and will give better growth than your leds

If the leaves are yellowing between the veins then maybe  a spray with epsom salts would help (magnesium)  - a level t-spoon dissolved in 1L water and just spray the leaves. They only need 1 treatment.

Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
    Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad.
  • AndyKAndyK Posts: 3

Hi Pete,

Thanks for your advice, unfortunately my house seems to have been built with no windowsills! I know, who does that?

Do you think they would be OK outside daytime so I can catch a sunny spot? Daytime temp at the moment is about 13-15C

I haven't been switching the lights off at all for weeks, do you think 24 hour light may have stressed them out?

I'll give the epsom salt trick a shot though, sounds like a great idea.

Thanks

Andy

• Pete.8Pete.8 Billericay, EssexPosts: 4,750

No windowsills = less dusting and ornaments :)