Forum home Tools and techniques

Preempting a wet season

I'm pretty new at this but last year was very wet and nothing grew so I'm really determined this year! Does straw help with moisture or make it worse? My patch is just a wee square metre container, thought I'd start small.  I live in west coast Scotland so better to start in a green house then transfer to patch?

• ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 26,235

It depends on what you're trying to grow and what soil mix you have in your container and how much drainage there is at the bottom.

Please tell us more.

"We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing." - George Bernard Shaw
  • the tub is on top of soil and tub has a liner. Liner has holes in it, that's it!

thought something easyish like peas and carrots?

• ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 26,235

How deep is the tub, what compost mix have you filled it with, are there crocks over the drainage holes to keep them clear?

If they're blocked they won't drain.  If they're sat directly on soil with no gap to allow excess water to drain, it will flood.  If you've used multi-purpose compost it will retain water.

I have grown peas and carrots in containers anything from 30 to 60cms deep using loam based compost  and with good drainage so you should be able to too.

"We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing." - George Bernard Shaw
  • raisingirlraisingirl East Devon, on the Edge of Exmoor.Posts: 4,712