Forum home The potting shed

Show me your Hanging Baskets

I've just moved into a townhouse with a tiny backyard so I'm planning on doing some beautiful hanging baskets. I've never done them before, so any pictures of yours and tips would be appreciated; i'd love something to last from May - Sept. But when do I start planting them? I love the attached - any pointers as to what plants they are - I'm guessing some are lobelia and pentinias? 

Last edited: 05 March 2017 17:09:07

• Mark56Mark56 Windsor, BerkshirePosts: 1,653

I can see my personal favourite and also the bees in the first image, calibrachoa image mine usually last from May-November. The key is to pack in as many plug plants as possible in the biggest hanging basket you can find, use moisture retentive compost, slow release granular feed & tomato feed a couple of times a week. I have one 'up right' growing plant in the middle too. 

You can create them for more shaded areas too, trailing lobelia, begonias & fuchsias are ideal for it. 

Last edited: 05 March 2017 17:22:17

• That's great, thanks Mark! When do you start planting yours?

• Mark56Mark56 Windsor, BerkshirePosts: 1,653

I'm naughty and usually buy plug plants to grow on for a month or so from nurseries around April, harden off & plant after risk of last frost. Down here in the South it's usually the 2nd week of May or so image

Pinch out tips to encourage side shoots for more flowers. Take a look at trailing annual Verbena or Bacopa, might take your fancy!

Last edited: 05 March 2017 18:49:35

• LoanaLoana Posts: 427