Awaiting delivery of my first greenhouse...

BLTBLT Posts: 513

I have tried those flimsy Grow houses and the last storm shredded those, so I felt it was time to have a more robust greenhouse.. I opted fora 6x4 one  as my garden is small.. I chose  Polycarbonate panes rather than glass, as I do not want to be replacing glass.. 

Its being delivered today at some time and will be assembled when the hurricane season is over lol..

Probably in about 10 days time.. 

Its going to be sited on grass.. I am told all around light is a good plan.  I have ordered paving for a centre path and will set a gravel bed either side..

I'm new to all this so I thought I would try this type of layout first..  Then if it doesn't work out I can dig out the turf etc next season..

Any tips and hint are appreciated.. My aim is vegetables rather than flowers..

Last edited: 03 March 2017 11:47:02

• steephillsteephill Posts: 622

First thing to think about is water. Have a source of water close to the greenhouse, either piped in with one if the plastic irrigation systems or at least have a water butt beside it which you can top up with a hose, you don't want to be traipsing up and down the garden with watering cans if you can avoid it.

What veg are you planning to grow?  Plenty of us started with tomatoes but stick with what you enjoy best. You can get early crops of strawberries in containers, salad leaves, chillies, herbs which like heat such as basil, lots of possibilities. 

• BLTBLT Posts: 513

Hi thanks for your replies, previously I had growhouses and they are not robust enough in a windy location..   Last year I grw mostly Tomatoes and cues in there. The Tomatoes were all different varieties and some types really need a warmer environment..