Forum home Fruit & veg

First time pepper grower needs help!

Hi everyone,

I'm in need of some help! I bought some pepper seeds last year and so far have been doing great, I have a couple of different types I'm pretty sure one is yellow monster and another is corbaci. I am a complete novice when it comes to growing anything so please take it easy on me! 

So here's the issue.. both plants are a good height with lots of leaves, no flowers yet and about 30-40cm but looking a bit sorry for themselves.. the leaves are droopy and the stems overal are not very thick and strong.. I read that your supposed to prune them back to where the stem splits into two? But I only have one stem that has split into two the rest are just singluar and tall So I'm really weary of cutting anything in case I ruin the plants!!

I keep them currently in my conservatory and keep them well watered as it does get hot in there.. could That be the issue?

I will get some photos tomorrow to show you.

appriciate any advice, as I said I'm a complete novice!

thank you 

• Torg22Torg22 Posts: 302

HI Keely,

Where are you based as its a tad unusual to have established pepper plants growing in February in the UK. Have they been growing for long?

Ive only just propagated a load of pepper seeds a few weeks ago and I now having little seedlings popping up. I tend to sow in Feb, plant outside it May and then get rewarded with Chillis from July through to Oct/Nov.

Does your conservatory get much direct sunlight, a lack of sunlight will definitely make them grow tall and spindly without bushing out. As its the winter I would imagine that this may be the case. Peppers/Chilli's really like the heat and lots of sun hence why the summer is when they are at their happiest.