Design project on helping bees through gardening

Hi,

I am a student studying design and for my minor project in third year I am looking at helping the bees by planting bee friendly flowers in your gardens. I was wondering how many of you knew about being able to plant bee friendly flowers and whether you do or not?

Thanks!

• I would guess that practically all of the regular users of this forum are very aware of the benefits of providing for wildlife in its myriad forms.  It is a regular topic, either in the form of a wildlife post or as a result of a specific enquiry about what plants to use to aid pollinating insects.  Have a 'listen in' over the next few weeks and I think you'll get to know just how knowledgeable are the participants and users of Gardeners' World Forum.

H-C

• Bright starBright star Wrea GreenPosts: 593

i am vey aware that bees are struggling at the moment and my new build garden is being planted with bees and other pollinators very much at the forefront of every plant I buy and grow. I'm trying to get as many new neighbours to buy bee friendly plants as possible. One of my friends had a beehive bought for Xmas and hes asked me to grow some plants for them too. 

Life's tragedy is that we get old too soon and wise too late.

• I think people are pretty clued up about pollinator friendly flowers. What I find surprising is just how many double flower species are still around.

• ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 12,671

The RHS lists pollinator friendly plants and most seed companies and live plant companies also have designations for pollinator friendly plants.