Forum home Fruit & veg

A Little Help With Strwberries?

Hi!

I am a complete an absolute beginner at gardening. My knowledge doesn’t exceed much further than the seed goes in the ground & I add water every now & then…

I have an idea as to what I want to grow… I’m just not sure how to do it correctly…

I’m looking at growing strawberries, I know the soil in my garden needs considerable work, work that I’m not yet ready to do so I’ll be growing them in a container.

My questions are: what do I need, how do I do it, when do I do it & how do I use the diggy things.

Thank you in advance!

• Ladybird4Ladybird4 Third rock from the sunPosts: 29,773

The easiest thing to do is to buy some plants from a reputable seller and get them in quickly now. Any later may be too late.

Cacoethes: An irresistible urge to do something inadvisable
  • raisingirlraisingirl East Devon, on the Edge of Exmoor.Posts: 3,913

Don't use a 'strawberry' pot (the ones with holes all down the sides). They look nice but the plants dry out. Ordinary pots are best. Or hanging baskets.

Bear in mind that when they are fruiting next summer they will need a steady water supply so put your pots near a tap/water butt/hose pipe.

Use multi-purpose compost, buy plants now as LB said and get them in. They'll be fine outside but give them shelter from cold winds.

Always aim the pointiest bit of of the diggy thing into the soil and away from your foot.

Job's a good 'un image

Come back in spring when you see a few flowers and someone will have some advice on the best way to feed them.

“This isn't life in the fast lane, it's life in the oncoming traffic.”
    ― Terry Pratchett
  • Thank you for help!

I was thinking I could plant strawberries in the spring of next year as I won’t be able to do them now. Would that be too late?