Forum home Wildlife gardening

New to gardening, please help

I have just bought my first house and it has a reasonable garden in the front and back. It has been neglected prior to my buying it and it seems a shame to leave it as it is.

I have never done any gardening before apart from cutting the grass.

I know there are hedgehog's and other wildlife in the area so I want a garden that will encourage them. But where do I start?

I have had to remove the hedge as it had mostly died and fallen over, and I intend to put fencing up. But what should I do next?

Please help, any advice would be welcome.

Thanks

• Ladybird4Ladybird4 Third rock from the sunPosts: 27,255

As you have just moved in it is probably just as well for you to get the fence put up as you intend and as the temperature will be dropping soon your grass will stop growing so that will save your lawn mowing duties. I would leave any major changes until you get a chance to see what pops up in terms of bulbs and Spring flowering plants. During the dormant months you can think about what you would like to see in your garden. Decide whether you just want an ornamental garden or if you would like to grow some fruit and vegetables. Work out where NSE and W are and where your sunny and shady sides are. This is a good way to start.

Cacoethes: An irresistible urge to do something inadvisable
  • Kitty 2Kitty 2 ManchesterPosts: 5,120

Hello Ilionosdelyth, and welcome to the the forumimage

There are lots of friendly folk here who are more than willing to help, but first, give us an idea of where you are in the UK and what you want from your garden.

We don't need your post code, but a N,S,E or W helps. 

For example: I have a tiny urban patch in South Manchester, others have acres of land down south, and we have members in the highlands of Scotland.

Photos are a bonus, and help enormously.

• Thank you so much for helping me.