Forum home The potting shed

Books, catalogues, magazines or digital?

The user and all related content has been deleted.

• The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • Joyce21Joyce21 Posts: 15,489

I agree Scroggin.  Plant/bulb catalogues get ticks and ? beside possibilities.

I do use my Kindle but much prefer the "feel" of a book.

SW Scotland
  • For preference, hard copies for me.

I've been using a Kindle Ereader since 2008 - very handy for getting English language books when I lived abroad.  Fine for general stuff but anything containing maps, drawings etc. I find a pain as they rarely come up as visible in any detail.

Long live "proper" booksimage

• nutcutletnutcutlet PeterboroughPosts: 26,160

books and celebrity free internet sites,  

I hate the throwaway nature of papers and magazines and their lack of any real content. 

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 35,156

If I want to read - it has to be a 'book', but I'm all for anything that encourages people to read, so if they do it online, it's fine by me. 

I'd rather browse online for seeds or plants nowadays - I just save the items or sites in my favourites or bookmarks.

I no longer buy newspapers either  image

It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• YviestevieYviestevie Kingswinford, West MidlandsPosts: 5,685

Reading novels (which I do a lot of) definitely my kindle, used to take about 6 books on hols with me, now it's just the kindle.  Easier to carry and I can read in the dark.  Reference books, especially gardening books, have to be hard copies.

Hi from Kingswinford in the West Midlands
  • FifsFifs Posts: 45

With you on that one Scroggin,  much prefer to hold a book to read. Always have and think I always will. Having said that the internet does have many plus points especially the ease and speed of researching. I do a lot of my research for gardening online.  Sometimes though I do suffer from information overload and resort to gardening books!!