Agapanthus

Guys, I have been growing some agapanthus seedlings for a few years and now have about 40 small agapanthus plants, still quite small, largest leaves about 8 inches long. I grew them from seed. Last night I was caught out by a snap frost, first one of of season. I left them out and have been panicking all day thinking that two years work was ruined. But they look like this. Seeming no damage?.. but would it show? What does frost damage look like? I don't have a green house so it's windowsill or nothing. I have no idea if they are the frost Hardy variety, would like to leave outside but dont want to lose them? Any guidance re frost, hardiness, or care of agapanthus babies? They came from portugal as a seed but were growing in a resort landscaped by an international firm so not necessarily susceptible to frost damage. Any guidance appreciated. Dan 

imageimage

• ButtercupdaysButtercupdays Posts: 2,196

Agapanthus come in evergreen or deciduous forms, and as a rule of thumb the deciduous ones are hardier. The degree of hardiness varies with variety and also, as in many plants , with age.

Yours are still quite small. I have some of a similar size and would not risk them outside yet. If they are deciduous you could perhaps put them into a polystyrene box and cover them with fleece or a piece of glass or perspex for protection. They will still need the occasional watering and some ventilation to prevent fungal attack. Evergreen ones will need more light  and more water as they are still transpiring, so will probably be safest taking up your windowsill spaceimage

Last edited: 03 October 2016 19:44:48

• Thanks buttercup.

Given im new to all this, are these looking about right, for two years? And how will I tell if they are deciduous or not? Sorry for all the silly questions, im just so keen to get these right after tending for so long! I think they will be fabulous when fully grown and planted en-masse.