RHS Level 2 Online course

Hi

I have enrolled for RHS Level 2 Practical Horticulture at Bham Botanical gardens from January 2017 which I am really looking forward to.

I want to also take on the 2 x Principles modules - Garden Planning and Plant Growth.

Bham botanical gardens (via Bham Met College) offer this but only on a Friday.  I am self employed and would struggle with a weekday commitment to this.

Has anyone studied the 2 x theory modules online and if so how did you find it?  I think that I could study around my other work and because I will be getting practical experience I get best of both worlds?  If I go onto Level 3, I would like to do both theory and practice as study based.

I am based in the east midlands 

Thanks

Lucy

• pbffpbff Posts: 432

Hi Lucy,

I studied the RHS Level 2 Cert. in the Principles of Plant Growth, Propagation & Development with the Horticultural Correspondence College and found the experience to be a good one.

The College offers a good, friendly service and the pricing is competitive. They have both online and on-paper correspondence courses and there is the option to pay by instalments.

I am now studying its Level 3 equivalent, but this time, I am teaching myself, using the syllabus, past papers, recommended reading and the internet. This also seems to be going well and I haven't yet felt that I ought to have gone for a tutored course.

This might be an option for you, but it depends upon how much time you have to devote to study, as of course, you'd need to write your own study material before you actually study it.

I still have all my study notes to the Level 2 Cert. in the Principles of Plant Growth, Propagation & Development, saved on my computer,  which I could easily send to you if you wanted them, although of course, that wouldn't help you with the garden planning certificate.

I hope all goes well for you, whatever you decide to do and good luck with the practicals at Edgbaston.

Best wishes

pbff