Forum home Problem solving

When to re-water?

linzijayne74linzijayne74 Droitwich, WorcestershirePosts: 166

Hello all.  I have a Centaurea plant that had been doing fairly well until its leaves started turning yellow and it was generally looking limp and sorry for itself...I've found out that my husband has been giving it too much water (he thought he was doing the right thing?!).

My local garden centre kindly informed me to put it in a batch of new compost and not to water it in as it's already wet to a degree (which it was) and to let it dry out somewhat.  This may sound a silly question but how long roughly should I now wait until re-watering?  Also what it the best way of removing the withered leaves?  Is it ok to snip with a pair of secateurs (peeling them off feels horrible but if that's the best way then of course I'll do that).  Sorry for all the silly questions (I'm a novice gardener) and thanks in advance.  :)

• Ladybird4Ladybird4 Third rock from the sunPosts: 32,230

Hi linzijayne. Its fine to snip the leaves off with secateurs. Knowing when to water will become instinctual when you've been gardening for a while but the best thing to do is to poke your finger into the compost about 2 cm and if the compost is dry then water. Leave it for a while since you have just repotted it and the moisture from the wet compost will disperse into the new compost. Better to under water than over water. Keep that OH out of the way! image

Cacoethes: An irresistible urge to do something inadvisable
  • plant pauperplant pauper Posts: 6,234

My niece once had a calendar which said "boys are stupid, let's throw rocks at them". 

Just sayin'. image

• linzijayne74linzijayne74 Droitwich, WorcestershirePosts: 166