No flowers on my Cosmos !!

I have sown Cosmos Purity from seed every year for the past 5 years with spectacular results in my white garden, however this year I have healthy looking green fern foliage with not a hint of a flower .......I also had a problem with the seed germination and contacted the seed suppliers who replaced 2 of the 5 packets I had purchased, I was told to look at their website for hints on germinating seeds !!!!! Has anyone else had this problem ??  Dordogne Sue

• Pink lilyPink lily Posts: 173

Good morning.  I'm only just starting to get buds on mine, but I was really late planting them out so I think thats probably got a lot to do with its been a bit dull and wet in scotland the last few weeks.  this is the first year I've grown them, so I am no expert, sorry.  Hopefully someone that knows what they are talking about will be along soon image  ps.  If in doubt, I usually give things a liquid feed and wait and see image

• plant pauperplant pauper Posts: 4,863

Everything in my garden is weeks behind everyone else's (my nasturtiums still have two leaves) and my Cosmos have been in flower for a couple of weeks now.

Try a feed as PL says and see how they go but that sounds a bit odd to me. Are they well watered and everything? If you've grown them before you know what you're doing so it may simply be down to a wet/dry/cold/hot spell at the wrong moment. image

• nutcutletnutcutlet Posts: 24,029

agree with Verdun re feeding. Don't.

Flowering and seeding is a plant's response to challenges, starvation, drought etc

lots of leaves is the response to an easy life with plenty to eat and drink

• Muddle-UpMuddle-Up Posts: 9,287

It might be the weather, D Sue....they do like a lot of sun.  Mine are 'slower' this year but starting to flower now.  Never had any problems with cosmos...maybe yours was a dud batch of seed?

Verdun's right, don't bother feeding them now.

I don't like change. 
    It wears holes in my trouser pockets.