Blueberry Bush help

I planted a Patriot blueberry bush last year (in ericaceous compost) and it grew well, producing a handful of berries last summer and I was really looking forward to this year's harvest. Everything seemed to be fine in the Spring,  it flowered abundantly but then all the potential berries dried up and fell off and the few  leaves started turning red as they did in the Autumn, most of the leaves haven't developed properly, last year it was really bushy. And most recently the stems have started going black from the ends inwards. See the photo below. Is it stem blight? or something else? can the bush be saved?

I'd be grateful for your thoughts as this is my first attempt at growing blueberries.

• Ladybird4Ladybird4 Third rock from the sunPosts: 27,226

Has it been kept well watered?

Cacoethes: An irresistible urge to do something inadvisable
  • Alex 9Alex 9 Posts: 11

perhaps not as well as it could be, could that be the problem?

• Ladybird4Ladybird4 Third rock from the sunPosts: 27,226

I think that is a distinct possiblity. image Especially when the fruits are forming.

Cacoethes: An irresistible urge to do something inadvisable

ok, thank you, I will get watering, I hope it will be enough to save the plant at this late stage!

• Aster2Aster2 Posts: 629

Could something be eating the roots?

• IamweedyIamweedy Cheshire East. Posts: 1,364

I have two such bushes one really failed last year the other was  fine. I half suspect it might have been vine weevils chewing at the roots. I tried vine weevil grub killer and it is still surviving but not as strong as the unaffected one.  It is certainly getting enough rain at present.

Last edited: 28 June 2016 17:14:32

'You must have some bread with it me duck!'

how would I tell if it is a problem with the roots? Do I just treat it and hope for the best?

Take it out of the pot and have a look.

• IamweedyIamweedy Cheshire East. Posts: 1,364