Is it too late to plant anything this year? & A soil question

Total beginner but my 5 year old son has been showing interest in growing veg and me too. We've a south facing garden with lots of sunshine. I'd like to get out there more and thought it would be a nice hobby for us both to do together.

I'd prefer tubs/pots and I hear that good beginner types are potatoes, carrots, green beans, tomatoes and turnips though it appears it's too late to plant any of these.

From what I can tell it seems any time past late May is pretty much done for the year aside from harvesting.

Is this correct?

Also, my second question is - when we moved in we adopted 2 pear trees, an apple and a plum tree. They're between 4-6ft tall and 2 have sprouted really well (though no fruits) and the other 2 appear to just be growing weeds. Is it worth keeping them or getting rid of them? Other than watering them we've not actually done anything for them so it may be too late. One of the pear trees looks like it has potential but again, I'm not sure. I'd hate to just throw out a perfectly good tree unless it was certainly dead, though.

We also have a pot of raspberries, gooseberries and strawberries. One of them (I believe the raspberries) are growing well, again no fruits. Other 2 have nothing at all. I'd like to use these pots if they are beyond help.

Any advice would be great, please!

• Sophie17Sophie17 Posts: 342

You still have time for turnips and carrots, I've successfully grown both in pots before but turnips need quite a bit of space

• Sophie17Sophie17 Posts: 342

sorry, that should read I've grown beans and carrots in pots and both do well. 

• DanielleCDanielleC Posts: 4

Doh! Forgot to add in my soil question! When planting is it compost that is needed? What is top soil for? Plants?

Compost is fairly cheap down the Homebase - £6 for 100L or something similar, or do I need more expensive types to really give it a chance to work?