Forum home Garden design

Screening Close To House

Hi, 

I am new to this whole gardening lark with only actually being a home owner for about a year.

My house is very close to a path, and it feels very exposed to the world and like we have no privacy at all as people can essentially look straight in our window as they walk by, I have attached a picture so that you can see what I mean.

I want to put some screening plants in, but I am very conscious of the proximity of the house with one section of it only being about a metre away from where I would need to plant them and the last thing I want to do is end up causing structural damage by what I put in. 

Can you make any suggestions of suitable shrubs that could use for this purpose? 

I have made errors and planted things and taken them back out for fear of damaging the house (a cherry laurel and a goldcrest conifer).  What is still in is a photinia which is the end plant in the bed in the photo, some tiny buxus and a rhododendron, which has grown to about twice the size it is in the photo in the last couple of months (I planted this not knowing about soil acidity requirements so expected it to fail but it seems to be thriving).

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

• Ladybird4Ladybird4 Third rock from the sunPosts: 27,255

As long as you don't plant a great big tree then you do not need to worry too much about damage to the building. The photinia will get quite tall and if it is the variety 'Red Robin' it can make a nice dense hedge. The Buxus will also grow quite big but probably more slowly than the Photinia. It can be pruned to keep it the height you require. If you have the space left you could plant a Berberis but keep in mind it is next to a path and you woud have to make sure its prickly branches do not obscure the path. The plants you have in are good choices you just have to be patient - this is a quality that all gardeners need to acquire! image