Forum home The potting shed

Hello and my garden story

Hi there, 

I'm new to gardening, having only taken it up a couple of years ago.  I thought I would introduce myself to the forum, as it is my first time  using it. 

My husband and I have been in our home for about 8 years, but due to illness/work we didn't really do anything with our back garden until about 2 years ago.  

It seemed turning 30 awakened something in me, and 'Operation Garden' inspired me to try my hand at gardening, and so I cleared out all the overgrown shrubs that didn't inspire me any more, and dug a new flower bed in.  

I quickly fell in love with Hostas and ferns for the shady bed, and love how they look at this time of year.  The back flower bed gets full sun almost all day long, so I have a nice mix of shady and sunny spots.  Now I'm looking for ways to keep my garden looking interesting all year, and have planted up a few hellebores my mother in law gave me a couple of weeks ago.  

Thanks for reading through this, and here are a few pictures of the garden- before, during and after!

The first day- it started with my husband deciding to re-felt the shed, then we though we should paint the shed....B&Q had the paint on offer, so we decided to paint the fences too.  Somehow it turned into a mammoth month long operation!

I started on clearing out the flower bed, and accidentally painted large parts of our lawn image  Husband moved the red robins.  

After a lot of hard work I ended up uncovering some lovely ferns, and a hydrangea that looked a bit sorry for itself.  I started to plant up some hostas.  

After finishing the flower bed we decided our next challenge would be a decking area.  

So my clever husband built this!  We thought our work was done, but I decided the area to the right of it looked a bit odd, and set about creating a new flower bed.