Forum home Wildlife gardening

Wildlife pond

Hi

I'm planning to put a wildlife pond in my garden but just wanted a bit of advice. 

Firstly, the size. I've only got a small place to fit it. The area is about 1.5m by 2.5m. i would say only the back 1.5m of this area could be dug down beyond 50cm as there is a lot of hardcore nearer to my patio from when the extension was built. I planned to create a natural gravel / pebble beach at the front because of this. So would the other 1.5 X 1.5 area be sufficient?

My only other concern is what to line it with. The area is surrounded by an established clumping bamboo and three japanese maples. I am concerned about roots getting access and puncturing a traditional liner so was wondering what other options you might suggest?

Finally, I would have liked a small waterfall or cascade as I love the sound of water in the garden. But the whole point is to attract wildlife so should I leave this out or include it?

I'm a novice where wildlife ponds are concerned so any advice much appreciated.

Thanks

Andy

• Gillian53Gillian53 Posts: 112

I'm no expert but did make a small pond 3 years ago. I read all I could and got myself thoroughly confused. We too have a rocky garden and could only dig the deepest part to about 18 inches. We couldn't form sloping edges so one side has a foot wide level shallows. I read that wildlife doesn't really need a great depth and all the plants I've introduced are thriving without ledges.  placed turf around the edges and poked the liner underneath. After all the initial worries a frog arrived within a week, followed by damselflies and dragonflies. Pondskaters, whirlygig beetles, boatmen, the list goes on. In the third Spring this year we have had frogspawn

• Gillian53Gillian53 Posts: 112