Roots in the soil

joo6joo6 Posts: 6

I would really like some help as I'm new to growing veg and I can't seem to find the information I'm looking for online. 
Last year I grew tomatoes / cucumbers in my greenhouse. The cucumbers grew really well not so many tomatoes but enough for the two of us. 
The soil I have in the greenhouse is just full of little roots. I've tried getting them out which I must say is rather hard work but I'm willing to do this if they need removing. 
My questions are.... 
Do I have to get rid of them all?
Can I just top up the soil and try and dig it in, not easy as they are spread throughout the soil? 
Any help would be great. 
Thanks in advance

• Pete.8Pete.8 Billericay, EssexPosts: 4,558

The little roots are just the leftovers from last year. Just dig them in. If you still have the stems of whatever you were growing last year, remove them, but the hair roots are of no consequence.

I wouldn't worry about pulling them out, they'll soon be broken down.

If your toms didn't do that well last year, maybe remove some of the soil and replace with some fresh soil/compost, and when you plant your toms plant them deep - up to the first set of leaves, this will encourage feeding roots to grow from the lower part of the stem and let the plant take up more nutrients.

Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
    Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad.
  • joo6joo6 Posts: 6

Thank you for your reply. I've just been to look at soil/compost at my local diy store and even that's quite confusing. It's amazing just how many different types of the above you can find when you start looking. 

Anyway, thanks for the advice on growing tomatoes it's most appreciated. 

Regards June 

• wrinkly1wrinkly1 Posts: 50