Forum home Problem solving

Complete novice with first garden - Help!

Hello all 

I've recently bought my first house and, being a 33 year old man with a lifetime of renting  London flats, have seldom found any need to improve my gardening skills. 

Imagine my surprise, then, that I appear to have a sudden thirst for knowledge and am enjoying the challenge of improving the lovely but neglected garden I've inherited. 

The previous owner had children and the lawn was very neglected, full of weeds and Moss. Likewise there was a lot of bramble and weeds to remove in the bushes etc. 

I've given it a mow and a tidy up but where should I go from here? I've read about Moss killer and grass seed but really don't have a clue where to start. My priority is with fixing the lawn before moving to the shrubs etc. The lawn is brown in most places and has some bald patches. 

I have no tools and no products at present and am about to start. If anyone has any very, very, simplified advice for where to start that would be much appreciated. 

Thanks! 

• Paul165Paul165 Posts: 97

imageimage

• ButtercupdaysButtercupdays Posts: 4,409

Hi Paul 165, welcome to the forumimage

Peeking over the fence, what I think is the neighbour's lawn also looks very brown. Has it been very dry there recently?