Forum home Problem solving

Complete newbie needs help

• Bernie3kBernie3k Posts: 14

Thanks Dave thats a brilliant tip, I will have to try that if and when I get some dips.

Not had much of a chance to get out there with the weather being as it is, think this is the first dry day we have had since I rotavated.

I went out after work and it just wasn't dry enough to rake and firm, which is a shame, I want to get it right, or as right as I can so that any problems are easily solved later on.

Was just going to keep the top shelf as grass for now and see how it does. It generally is shady at the back but only later on, I think the back shelf gets a dose of sun much later on before it disappears behind next doors house.

Unfortunately the tree next door has been left to get out of hand. Its humungous and I dread to think where the roots are. I really like my sun and it creates unwanted shade throughout the day at different times. 

Really wanted to get it seeded before I go on holiday in three weeks but I'm not sure it's going to happen, Don't want to rush it as I'm not sure what effect firming in the wet will have

Pink lily says:

Its looking brilliant!  I spent the weekend lifting the old turf in my garden.....I've got all the rotovating and raking to look forward to.  From your pics and all the advice given I now have an idea of what I should be aiming for, so thank you!   Good luck with your project, I can't wait to see it finished image

See original post

Just a word of warning, get a rotavator suitable for the job. I was going to go for the cheaper option which is driven by the blades alone. It would have been almost impossible to get it done. The one I got was classed as a mid size with a 9 BHP engine and driven by the wheels and the blades. Made the job much easier, although I was still sore for a few days and managed to pull my achilles tendon :(

Best of luck with your project and let me know how you found it :)

• plant pauperplant pauper Posts: 6,234